Tree Board


Meetings are held as needed, at such times as the board determines necessary to fulfill their required duties.


There are five members appointed by the mayor and council for three-year terms.

  • Gregg (Lynn) Mrkvicka
    Term expires on January 3, 2023
  • Theo Williams
    Term expires on January 6, 2023
  • Daniel G. Benz, Vice-chairperson
    Term expires on December 17, 2021
  • David Ball
    Term expires on December 3, 2024
  • Mechelle Cox, Chairperson
    Term expires on January 13, 2023

About the Board

The Tree Board:

  • Promotes and protects the public health, safety, and general welfare of the city by providing recommendations to the council as to the regulation of the planting, maintenance, and removal of trees, shrubs, and other plants within the city    
  • Recommends ordinances and resolutions to effect such purpose    
  • Assists the mayor in preparing an annual Arbor Day proclamation and plans for an observance